1 Worman's Mill Ct, Suite 16 Frederick, Maryland 21701
Telephone: 301-662-9077
Frederick County Teachers Association

FCTA Makes Recommendations for 2018 Primary Elections

The Frederick County Teachers Association (FCTA) is pleased to recommend the following great leaders.

County Executive
Jan Gardner – Democratic Primary

County Council
Justin Kiska – At Large Republican Primary
Kai Hagen – At Large Democratic Primary
Susan Reeder Jessee – At Large Democratic Primary
Jerry Donald – District 1 Democratic Primary
Steve McKay – District 2 Republican Primary
M.C. Keegan-Ayer – District 3 Democratic Primary
Jessica Fitzwater – District 4 Democratic Primary
Shannon Bohrer – District 5 Democratic Primary
Bud Otis – At Large Unaffiliated (will not appear on the primary ballot instead will be seeking signatures to qualify to appear on the General Election Ballot)

Board of Education (Non-Partisan Race)
Jay Mason
Camden Raynor
Karen Yoho
Brad Young

In a crowded field with many quality candidates, these candidates rose to the top.  Together they bring a wide variety of experience in community engagement and public service. They all have a vision for Frederick County that includes strong public schools and a system that has the resources needed to recruit and retain the best educators so all our students can succeed.

To be considered for this recommendation, candidates completed questionnaires and participated in interviews with members of FCTA, Frederick Association of School Support Employees (FASSE) and Frederick County Administrative and Supervisory Association (FCASA). In order to receive the endorsement of FCTA, each candidate needed to have an affirmative vote of at least 58% of ballots returned in an every member vote.

FCTA represents over 2,800 teachers, school counselors, media specialists, therapists, speech pathologists, social workers, teacher specialists and athletic directors working in Frederick County Public Schools.